How to grow pathogens from a sick plant

As we already learnt how to make the food for fungi known as potato dextrose agar (PDA). The next step consists of growing something in there! Here, I show you how I grew a fungus that was feeding on of the ginger I had at home.

I noticed, that the ginger had hyphae (a) growing on the top, and I decided to cut it for further inspection. Inside I could see that the ginger was rotting (b).

Therefore, I decided to simply place the rotten ginger piece on the PDA plate and wait. After five days (1) and fifteen days (2,3), the fungus which was previously feeding on my ginger, is now feeding on the potato medium. Isn’t it gorgeous?

Results

In the middle of our homemade “Petri dish”, you can see the ginger, and in its white part (1) or yellow (2,3), is where the fungus is growing. 

Deja un comentario